Lisa Boff wins HPS Teacher of the Year!

Lisa Boff wins HPS Teacher of the Year!
Posted on 06/08/2017

Mrs. Lisa Boff wins HPS 207-2018 Teacher of the Year!

Mrs. Boff is a third grade teacher at Oakwood Elementary School. She was recognized for her outstanding dedication to all students.

Words shared about Lisa Boff during the ceremony:
" This teacher was not always a teacher. She initially earned an Associate’s Degree and joined the private sector in an administrative role. For the following 16 years—she worked in benefit planning, employee relations and organization development. She was a Human Resources professional.


But as she will readily admit: she felt something was lacking in her professional life. She desired to make a more meaningful contribution elsewhere and she believed she needed to make the transition to education.


She returned to college—and this time, earned a dual bachelor’s degree in elementary education and psychology. She started her teaching career nearly 14 years ago where she was living at the time—in Connecticut. While working full-time, she went on to earn her masters in elementary education curriculum.


Three years ago, this teacher and her family made the move to Hickory. She loves what she is doing—helping children to facilitate their academic and social growth and development.


On a personal note—she has always had the support of her family—her two daughters who are fifteen years apart—one biological and one adopted; and the support of her loving husband of 33 years!


I’d like to share direct words from this nominee: “Working with a staff always committed to student learning, along with supportive parents in our school community, combined with the smiles of students excited to come to school on a daily basis—makes me proud to be an Oakwood Blue Jay!”

Mrs. Boff won a plaque, $1,000 from Vanguard Furniture, keys to a new Toyota from Mike Johnson's Hickory Toyota (to drive during the next year) and family membership to the Catawba Science Center.

Congratulations, Mrs. Boff!

Additional Teacher of the Year winners from HPS schools include:
  • April Kehoe – Jenkins Elementary, ESL

  • Amanda DiGangi – Southwest Elementary, 4/5 grade combination

  • Janice Walker – Longview Elementary, 4th grade

  • Maria Creger – Viewmont Elementary, Kindergarten

  • Courtney Osteen – Northview  Middle, 7th grade math/social studies

  • Elizabeth Schreiber – Grandview Middle, 6th grade science/social studies

  • Justin Lunsford – HCAM 9-12 math 1, Advanced Functions & Modeling (AFM)

  • Linda Hirsch – Hickory High, 9-12 Biology and IB Biology

Full story in the Hickory Daily Record. Click link:

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2022 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.